Board of Directors

We’re currently looking for new board members!

Positions open include: Treasurer, Secretary, Program & Events Director and Director-at-Large!

Roles differ but all require being comfortable with or willing to learn to work with technology as we rely heavily on emails and video conferencing!

If you’re interested in learning more about the roles and responsibilities of any these positions please contact Luwam at vicepresident@olivercommunity.com.

General Inquiries: Contact Us.

2020 – 2021 Board of Directors

Position Name Contact
President Robyn Paches president@olivercommunity.com
Vice President Luwam Kiflemariam vicepresident@olivercommunity.com
Secretary VACANT secretary@olivercommunity.com
Treasurer VACANT treasurer@olivercommunity.com
Civics (Planning) Director Derek Macdonald civics@olivercommunity.com
Civics (Planning) Co-Chair Jared Candlish civics@olivercommunity.com
Communications Director Logan Fechter communications@olivercommunity.com
Events & Programs Director VACANT events@olivercommunity.com
Garden Director VACANT garden@olivercommunity.com
Hall & Recreation Director Lisa Brown hallredevelopment@olivercommunity.com
Membership Director Allison Rosland membership@olivercommunity.com
Social Advocacy Director Marc Workman advocacy@olivercommunity.com
Volunteer Coordination Director Carrie-Anne Cyre volunteer@olivercommunity.com
Director at Large VACANT
Director at Large VACANT
Director at Large VACANT directoratlarge@olivercommunity.com

General Roles and Requirements for Oliver Community League Board Members:

  • A director is expected to be fully informed on community league matters and participate in discussions and decisions in matters of policy, finance, programs, personnel and advocacy.
  • Commit to the work of the organization.
  • Review the board’s conduct and monitor its performance to ensure compliance with bylaws and policies.
  • Speak positively of the League and assist in developing and maintaining positive relations among the board, committees and communities to enhance the leagues mission.
  • Orient new board members.
  • Prepare for and arrive on time for all required meetings.
  • Develop, monitor, review and approve all policies and other recommendations received from the board, its standing committees and staff.
  • Review the bylaws and recommend changes to the membership.
  • Participate in the development of the leagues organizational plan, annual review and budget.
  • Approve the budget and other financial matters.
  • Prepare and present required reports at board meetings.
  • Prepare and present an annual report at the annual general meeting.
  • Minimum time commitment:
    • 5 hours/month to attend and prepare for board meetings and read associated e-mails. Board meetings are traditionally held the first Wednesday of every month at 7pm at the Grace Lutheran Church (9907 114 St NW).
    • Some positions have seasonal time commitments.
Cancel